Sarah + Tim

a canadian, american and calico living in perfect harmony

nothing like homemade cream of broccoli soup February 28, 2008

On the way home today, I stopped by Flour Girls and Dough Boys in American Fork for a visit and walked out with good, hearty bread bowls. These things have a good weight to them, not like the air-filled things you find in most bakeries. What else to put in a bread bowl than cream of broccoli soup?

Delightful Tina from Flour Girls suggested to put the bread bowls in the oven to warm them up and make them soft again before serving. Tim made the incision and carved out the insides like pumpkins before filling them with thick, hearty soup.

dinner-008.jpg

The All Recipes cream of broccoli recipe we made got a whopping five stars on all the reviews I read, so naturally, I had to try it. (click here for the recipe!) The aroma itself is delicious and I am anxiously awaiting to consume it. Signing off!

Addendum: The Review

I am extremely full and completely satisfied. Next time you’re in the mood for a heartwarming winter meal, I highly recommend this simple and delicious recipe. Women, your boyfriend/partner/husband will praise you for it.

Though it’s only Wednesday, I feel in desperate need for a weekend, to turn off my mind and escape. It’s time to curl up in the living room with soft light, the fire place and Tim.

 

3 Responses to “nothing like homemade cream of broccoli soup”

  1. Paige Funk Says:

    l completely understand the need for the weekend on Wednesday. I am also feeling the strong pull of Saturday. Congrats on the great soup!

  2. Chandra Says:

    We had soup Tuesday. Cheddar and broccoli. But yours looked so much better in the bread bowls. I am feeling another soup night coming soon. I tagged you on my blog incase you arent familiar with the rules you just copy and post the list on your blog and fill in your answers. Dont feel like you have to do it. I wont hate you if you dont. 🙂

  3. Ryan Byrd Says:

    I got to try the soup. the sourdough bread, sold by the loaf, is very good, too!

    http://www.ryanbyrd.net/rambleon/2008/04/04/c-is-for-cookie-its-good-enough-for-me/


Leave a comment