Sarah + Tim

a canadian, american and calico living in perfect harmony

Sarah and Tim: An Online Love Story October 4, 2009

Photo c/o Yaletown Wedding Gallery

Photo c/o Yaletown Wedding Gallery

Tim and I just celebrated our fourth anniversary at the beginning of September.  Here is a little insight to how Sarah and Tim became Sarah and Tim.  You may be surprised.

One August night in 2001, I was invited by a friend to go to www.ldschat.com with her, a chat room specifically for people of our faith.  After a few minutes online, I started chatting with Tim.  At the time I was living in Vancouver and he was in Portland.  We soon found we were the same age, shared similar interests and got along quite well.  We ended up chatting for four hours that night, exchanged email addresses and started emailing, chatting and racking up crazy phone bills on a regular basis.   Because of the distance between us, we had the opportunity to develop a strong friendship that was an excellent foundation for what was to come.

New Years 2002, Tim and his band came to party and we finally met.  The chemistry was there and shortly thereafter, we began dating officially.  We took turns coming to visit back and forth (luckily there is only a six hour drive between Vancouver and Portland) and then that summer Tim received his call to serve in the Chile Santiago North mission.

The last time we saw each other before Tim's mission, July 2002

The last time we saw each other before Tim's mission, July 2002

I was devastated.  Of course I wanted to support Tim but knew I was going to miss him while he was gone.  Tim asked me not to wait for him, and I wasn’t planning on it.  While I dated up a storm while Tim was away, the feelings I had for Tim (and vice versa) didn’t go away.

That said, I had skipped out writing Tim for the last six months of his mission and Tim thought I’d gotten married by that point.

At the end of his mission, we talked and were both a little indifferent of our relationship.  He decided to come visit before leaving for school at BYU the fall of 2004 and before we knew it, we were exactly where we left off.  Tim wanted me to come to Utah, to which I responded something like “over my dead body” (fate has a cruel sense of irony) and we decided to call it quits.  We both thought it would be forever, but in February of 2005, I called Tim to tell him I still had feelings for him.  He was dating another girl at the time, but before I knew it, he had broken up after mulling over our conversation.  Tim told me that he had been comparing me to every girl he dated at BYU and none of them had measured up.

Our engagement photo by Stephanie

Our engagement photo by Stephanie

By spring of 2005, Tim had planned a roadtrip with his school friends to Vancouver and we had several days together.  At the time I was planning to serve a mission for our church and he was fully supportive of the idea.  But by June, the thought of putting our relationship on hold for a mission was hard to swallow.  We started talking about getting married and were engaged soon afterwards.

How did Tim propose?  We were at the Seattle Temple and he says to me, “Maybe we can go ring shopping this weekend!” and I’m thinking, “You don’t already have the ring?”  As we”re sitting in the parking lot, then he pops this gorgeous diamond on me and asks me to marry him.  I said yes, of course.

sarah-and-tim-online-love-story-ringOne stressful summer engagement and two receptions later, we were married in the Cardston, Alberta temple and then rode off into the sunset.  It was perfect.

So there you have it.  I met the love of my life on the internet.  How is that for God bringing two compatible people together that may have never met otherwise?  It’s beyond chance and makes me immensely grateful.

How did you meet your husband/wife/partner?

 

16 Responses to “Sarah and Tim: An Online Love Story”

  1. Chaucee Says:

    Aw this is so adorable! I met my boyfriend over facebook 😛 We had some friends in common and found out that we were attending the same church but went to different services so we never met each other. And he used to work for one of my dad’s companies a long time ago. And we both went to private christian schools back in high school that played against each other in sports and must of been at the same sporting events. But what do you know …. we met over the internet. Lol.

  2. Miranda Says:

    I had no idea you met Tim over the net! What a sweet story, Sarah. I’m so happy you guys are much in love after 4 years. Wishing you many memorable years together.

  3. Amy Anderson Says:

    How fun to fill in the blanks. I knew about some of it from your Mom while it was happening.

    I met my hubby at a church Valentines dance. We were 15 and 16. He’s the only guy that has ever asked my for my phone #. We dated off and on but nothing serious. He took me to my Senior Prom as the guy that I was going with bailed on me 2 days before. It wasn’t until we were in our early 20’s that we got serious. We will be married 25 years in April 2010. WOW! Doesn’t seem like it’s been that long. That’s a good thing, isn’t it?!

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      Yes, Tabitha was actually there the day that we got engaged at the temple! She was one of the first people to know 🙂

      That’s so wild about how you met your hubby! True love CAN be found at church dances, I love it! That’s incredible that you’re coming up on a quarter century. Congrats!

  4. Adhis Says:

    You may have already seen the story on my blog, so I’ll just do a general overview.

    I was a census worker in the summer of 2000. David was one of those slackers that did not respond to the mailed questionnaire, so I was sent to find him and get the interview done. I was miffed because the interview ran long and I was missing the season finale of ‘Friends’ and ‘Frasier.’ (Can you tell that’s when I used to watch television?)

    It was love at first sight for him. Not me, I was creeped out because he kept staring through the interview. It’s a miracle we married just a few months later. (I guess he had God on his side though because after I left the interview, he knelt down and prayed for a girl “just like her”; he didn’t have the guts to say “I want her” in his words.)

    Yeah. So, with the census coming up next year, I told Dave he’s not allowed to chat with the census worker. 😉

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      HILARIOUS, Adhis! Yes, watch out for those census workers 🙂 I’m so glad things worked out with the two of you. And congrats on your pregnancy, that’s AWESOME.

  5. chandra Says:

    That is so sweet. The internet is awesome. It’s the new way of dating!! I have actually thought about blogging our love story too. So watch for it 😉

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      Thanks, Chandra! The internet really is revolutionizing how people meet and expanding people’s horizons. I know a ton of couples that are happily married because of the internet. Yes, DO blog your love story!

  6. Melissa Mae Says:

    That is awesome! That’s how my cousin and her husband met about 10 years ago, and they had no idea what the other looked like until they met in person.
    You and Tim are so cute.

  7. Brett M Says:

    I remember that 2005 roadtrip like it was yesterday … it was a great trip and you are a great couple! That is crazy that you met on-line … Sara, you are lucky Tim wasn’t a middle-aged man who has never left his mother’s house 🙂

    Emily and I met in our BYU ward. She had super curly hair and had just returned home from her mission. It clicked. I am very glad that it did.

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      That was SUCH a fun trip! I remember being amazed at the ocean and hitting hard core on Jen — who is now a newlywed and living in Utah not too far away! I still remember that gelato… mmm!

      NO JOKE re: Tim being a middle aged man. I have to say, that was a concern at one point!

      You and Emily are great together. So glad it worked out 🙂 How is fatherhood?

  8. the funny thing about all this is that I don’t remember taking that photo AT ALL!!!! Unless it was another Stephanie who took it…that would explain everything!


Leave a Reply

