Sarah + Tim

a canadian, american and calico living in perfect harmony

Update June 24, 2009

Filed under: family — Sarah @ 8:25 pm
Tags: , ,

grandmaSorry to be a stranger as of late.  Life threw a curve ball this week.

My dear Grandmother passed away on Sunday morning and we have been out of the country attending her funeral.  She was a woman with a hearty, glorious laugh, a strong, independent heart, and a hopeless weakness for big watches and jewelry.  She was loved by all and will be dearly missed.

Thank you for your patience and support during this difficult time.

How do you cope with the loss of a loved one?

 

7 Responses to “Update”

  1. Adhis Says:

    I wish you comfort and peace during this time of big goodbyes.

    As for me,
    I usually cry, cry, cry. Then, I discern specifically why I am so sad. Whatever the answer reveals itself to be then determines my next reaction. Then, I pray about it. Whatever impression I get during my prayer determines my next action.

    I could put my process on a flowchart for you. 😉

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      Thanks for your well wishes, Adhis. I’m with you, when it comes to grieving and loss, I cry, cry, cry. It’s so healthy to let it out though. The emotion just takes a lot of energy out of me.

  2. Amy Anderson Says:

    It’s a time that secures your testimony of gospel principles you’ve been taught~ life after death, sealing ordinances, and the resurrection. Unfortunately, we have experienced the loss of loved ones way to many times (parents and grandparents). 😦 I find music heals the soul. And the scripture Alma 40:11-12 brings comfort.

    Remember it hurts to have them gone because they were such a part of our life and they were loved. You will remember her always. And sometimes the grief of her being gone will hit you when you least expect it. Or you will see something that will remind you of her and want to buy it for her.

    It always makes you cherish your loved ones here all the more.

    {{{Hugs at all}}}

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      Amy, it’s so true! This experience of losing my Grandma has totally made me appreciate the plan of Salvation so much more, knowing that we will see her again and be reunited as a family.

      I’ve discovered that though this is a trying time, it’s better to have people in our lives to miss than not have them at all.

      You’re so right, grief hits when you least expect it. Like at the gas station when the woman behind the counter reminded me of her. Hugs to you, too!

      EXCELLENT scripture! Thank you!

  3. lizmthibault Says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. I lost my mom when I was 15. I like to hold onto a few special things, and do things we would have done together sometimes.

  4. Mindi B Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your loss! I have been through the death of three very close loved ones, including my dad, and all I can say is for me, coping meant a lot of crying, praying, reminiscing, and sharing my feelings with others. If you ever need to talk (or cry), give me a call!! Love ya, Mindi.

  5. Laureen Says:

    I am so sorry for your lost. She sounds like an incredible woman! It must have been wonderful to have known (know:) her.


Leave a Reply

