Sarah + Tim

a canadian, american and calico living in perfect harmony

Childhood Dreams Come True February 8, 2009

When I was 8 years old, I took a modeling class.  And let me tell you, I had a kick butt runway walk – even then!  As kids, we dabbled in the entertainment industry, being involved in commercials and movies.  As a teenager I totally wanted to model and even went to an agency!  I was instructed to lose an inch off my hips and come back.  Though I never did, I have thought about modeling for years and gone through phases of enthusiasm… but never really done anything about it.

lisa-j-peck1Until now.  In November, I started working with life coach Lisa J. Peck, the Step It Up Queen.  The weekend before, this urge to model had been rekindled so we talked about it.  She told me how she could hear the color in my voice whenever I talked about modeling and encouraged me to make time for and pursue my childhood dream.  It’s been amazing how Lisa’s encouragement has helped me move forward these last few months, not just with modeling, but life in general.  With her help, I’ve made incredible progress in trusting my instincts, living with confidence and actively pursuing my dreams.  I live with greater clarity and direction.

Here’s some of my favorite shots from some recent photo shoots… more to come!

Photo care of Robert Parker

Photo care of Robert Parker

Photo care of Chris Blackburn

Photo care of Chris Blackburn

Photo care of Chris Blackburn

Photo care of Chris Blackburn

Photo care of Justin Hackworth

Photo care of Justin Hackworth

So what are your childhood dreams?  Are you living them?  Do tell!

And a big thank you to Lisa for all her help and encouragement.  I totally recommend Lisa and would love to introduce her to you!

 

8 Responses to “Childhood Dreams Come True”

  1. Shelley Says:

    Sarah these photo’s are great! You are very photogenic – clearly the camera loves you – Bravo on putting yourself out there.

  2. Amy Anderson Says:

    You are a natural!!! Go for it! Such stunning photos.

  3. lizmthibault Says:

    This is just amazing! Way to go.

  4. Cassandra Says:

    Have you ever thought about modeling for artists? You would be fantastic to paint. I’m sure your mom has done it already.

    My childhood dreams? My life has surpassed all of those dreams.

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      That’s an interesting thought, Cassandra. If you ever need someone to sit for you, keep me in mind! Talking with an oil painter about doing something with flamenco.

      Way to live, Cassandra! You go, girl!

  5. Claudine Says:

    Sarah! Those pictures are completely fantastic. I’m so glad you published this post!
    Modelling suits you and I do believe in following your dreams.

    I may not have met any childhood dreams, but I am going to meet my my adulthood dreams.
    That’s all one can hope for!

    Congrats again Sarah!

  6. Miranda Says:

    … no wonder you always look fab in your photos!

    i remember now that you and steph modeled and acted for a bit… i want to see your photos from before 😛

  7. Adhis Says:

    Sarah, you totally should pursue modeling with no hesitation!

    My childhood dream was to do EVERYTHING and bring cheer to people. Nothing specific, that I recall. Just be everything!
    It has since evolved to always be open to try new things, appreciate diversity, interact with love, and invite people to hope.

    Isn’t it interesting how many of us have let someone talk us out of our dreams?
    Isn’t it magic when we remember our dreams and allow them to take flight?


Leave a Reply

