Sarah + Tim

a canadian, american and calico living in perfect harmony

Flamenco Friday October 11, 2008

Flamenco dance is a healthy addiction I took up years ago. On my 18th birthday, a friend of mine treated me to a flamenco recital where I was astounded at the passion & fire I saw unfold before me on stage. For anyone who has witnessed live flamenco before, you know exactly what I mean! Shortly after Tim left on his mission, I began flamenco classes as a healthy outlet for emotions and haven’t looked back since.

A few months ago I began collaborating with a local flamenco guitarist named Gabriel Edgar who truly is among the most talented guitarists in the state. He plays with an flamenco fusion ensemble called Hidden Truth & we have been collaborating on some exciting pieces.

On Friday, October 24th, we will be opening up for a jazz pianist/singer in Salt Lake City at a non-smoking bar called the 5 Monkeys (7 East 4800 South just off State Street). Our set starts at 9pm and we’d love for you to come support the local arts community!

At right: a flamenco performance in Vancouver, Canada for Mozaico Flamenco Dance Academy.  Photo credit: Doris Freidich.

 

4 Responses to “Flamenco Friday”

  1. Quincy Says:

    I want to go! I will go!

  2. Amy Anderson Says:

    Oh, man! I wish we lived closer. We would so love to see you.

    PS – I think I fix the comments on my blog. Thanks for letting me know.

  3. Bethany Says:

    looks so fun! where do you take lessons? i am so intereseted in taking flamenco lessons in utah, but i havent been able to find anything!

    • Sarah & Tim Says:

      thanks so much! flamenco is such a great outlet for us girls. i actually trained in vancouver for five years before moving to utah. there’s not a lot of places in utah, but do check out bien flamenco http://www.bienflamenco.com/ – a woman named sariah teaches private lessons. also solange gomes teaches flamenco up in salt lake city with tablado dance @ http://www.tabladodance.com. solange has group lessons downtown for beginner and intermediate. good luck! you’ll love flamenco!


Leave a Reply

