Sarah + Tim

a canadian, american and calico living in perfect harmony

“I Kissed a Girl and I Liked It” August 9, 2008

Filed under: music — Sarah @ 3:34 am
Tags: , , ,

Driving home, I heard “I Kissed a Girl and I Liked it” by Katy Perry on the radio. If you haven’t heard the song yet, here are some of the racy lyrics:

“I got so brave, drink in hand / Lost my discretion / Just wanna try u on / I’m curious for you
I kissed a girl and I liked it / I kissed a girl just to try it / It felt so wrong / It felt so right
No I don’t even know your name / It doesn’t matter / You’re my expiramental game / Just human nature
Us girls we are so magical / Soft skin, red lips, so kissable / Hard to resist so touchable / Too good to deny it / Ain’t no big deal, it’s innocent”

Before I say anything, please know I have a tremendous amount of respect for individuals who choose alternative lifestyles. It is everyone’s choice and prerogative which I respect. I have also been blessed to know many such people who are remarkable, talented and dear friends.

Here were the messages I heard in this song:

  1. If you’re bored or curious, go for it.
  2. Feel free to experiment on strangers
  3. It’s innocent and human nature, why not?

This song plays on radio stations that are listened to by young, impressionable girls, many of whom don’t listen to the lyrics and just like the beat. This is a catchy song. Have you ever noticed that you’ll hear a song on the radio a few times and realize you know all the words? These things are internalized by the subconscious mind whether we realize it or not.

I am earnestly concerned for young people who listen to this song and accept the messages being fed to them that it’s okay to do whatever you want and that there are no consequences for your actions.

What do you think?

 

3 Responses to ““I Kissed a Girl and I Liked It””

  1. Amy Anderson Says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! What distrubing lyrics to this song. I too have wonderful, incredible friends that have choosen the alternative sexual lifestyle but to put that into lyrics of a song is endorsing the thoughts of experimentation. It remindes me of a story told by Elder Gene R. Cook when he met Mick Jagger (Rolling Stones) on an airplane. Mick J. said the purpose of their lyrics was to get the kids to drink, do drugs and have sex. Now it’s just changed to same-sex behavior.

    Thanks for the heads-up as I have not heard of this song before.

  2. Melissa Says:

    I ABSOLUTELY agree. I was thinking the same exact things when I first heard it. Tom and I were like, “What in the heck is this world coming to?” I don’t want my kids listening to stuff like that. Its the stupidest song.

  3. Sarah & Tim Says:

    That’s just it! Encouraging experimentation for young teenagers. It’s scary how blatantly forward the media is becoming.


Leave a Reply

