Sarah + Tim

a canadian, american and calico living in perfect harmony

Random Acts of Kindness February 7, 2008

Filed under: food,Sarah — Sarah @ 3:24 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

My new favorite place in Utah, besides my home, is Flour Girls and Dough Boys Bakery in American Fork.

After driving past their sign every day for weeks, I stopped in one day when craving a cinnamon roll and was astounded. The aroma is evident the moment you walk in the room, the barrage of beautiful pasteries and breads to behold, and the warm, genuine people behind the counter are outstanding. Needless to say, I have been back every week since.

photo compliments of American Fork blog

Yesterday, I had some time before picking up Tim and stopped in to chill at the cafe. The girls, Kelly and Tina, were delightful and we had a pleasant chat as I was paying for my pumpkin chocolate bar with cream cheese frosting. I snuggled up in the corner next to the fire with a Real Simple magazine and my delicious pumpkin bar. Next thing I know I hear my name and Kelly is coming towards me with a cup of almond and raspberry steaming milk on the house! Then Tina comes to check on the flavor – what incredible consideration. My visit to the cafe made a great afternoon extraordinary.

saratoga sunset
Photo credit – Tim. The sun dipped behind the clouds and the snow, being blown in the air, reflected the sunshine and this sensational photo is the result of this phenomenon.
 

2 Responses to “Random Acts of Kindness”

  1. chelsea Says:

    hi, just found your blog looking for flour girls and dough boys. I happened in there on their first day open and during their first lonely weeks open I made sure I stopped in at least every other day. I agree that they’re so generous and friendly. They always greet me with a big smile and a ‘Hi, again!’ I was in on Wednesday and they even asked if I had a blog. Apparently they googled their name and read through the comments/posts to get an idea of what people think.

    If you like clam chowder, I definitely recommend stopping in on a Friday or Saturday. My husband used to live on the coast and he said it’s the next best thing to what you can find by the ocean.

    Also, try their cranberry walnut bread!

  2. debfotheringham Says:

    I have always loved this place. I’m pretty sure I’ve loved everything I’ve tried. And it is one of the few places that makes everything from scratch. Good choice on the pumpkin bar. That’s my fave.


Leave a Reply

